The Redding Consortium for Educational Equity: Redistricting Work Group January 29, 2020 Community Education Building, Wilmington, Delaware Meeting Minutes

Welcome

The Redistricting work group Co-Chair Eugene Young called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. Young welcomed the work group members and members of the public to the Community Education Building. The floor was then open for introductions from the work group members.

Approval of Minutes

Quorum was met and the meeting minutes from December 12, 2019 were approved.

Work Group Timeline

The work group reviewed a timeline that outlined upcoming meetings between January-April 2020 (please see the Consortium website).

Redistricting Plan Options

Young presented the six criteria or considerations for accepting a redistricting plan. These considerations will help to determine what option is the most viable and effective for the students in the City of Wilmington and Northern New Castle County area. The considerations are as follows:

- Effectiveness in Promoting Education Equity
- Impacts on Stakeholders
- Impacts on the Community
- Implementation Feasibility
- Political Feasibility
- Cost

Subsequently, the work group discussed a list of redistricting options. Notably, the options presented were not comprehensive or finalized, and other considerations are welcome anytime. Each redistricting options and a brief description are as follows:

- Alternative Education Zone Model Based on national models and may include changes to the operations/curriculum inside schools.
- Northern New Castle County Dual District Create two school districts for Northern New Castle County.
- Northern New Castle County Unified District- Create a single school district for Northern New Castle County.
- Three-District Option The Red Clay, Brandywine, and Colonial District boundaries would continue to include areas in the City of Wilmington, no longer including the Christina School District.

- Two-District Option Boundaries of both Christina and Colonial School Districts would no longer include the City of Wilmington.
- Wilmington District reestablish a Wilmington School District that would serve all City of Wilmington students.

Discussion of Redistricting Plan Options

Young provided an opportunity for those members who submitted responses on the redistricting plans prior to the meeting to discuss their opinions. The work group discussed additional comments, concerns, and ideas associated with each option. Some of these statements included, concerns for the timeframe to create a plan, differing opinions on the methodology for determining a plan, systemic problems within public schools, and the need to focus the members' perspectives toward future plans rather than discussing previous short comings.

Following the discussion of options, members performed a preliminary ranking of the most viable and effective options. This ranking was to gather a general understanding on the members' option preferences and does not take any redistricting option off the table.

Redistricting Plan Votes

The work group's voting results were as follows:

- Three District Option
- Two District Option
- Wilmington District

These three options were further discussed. Some of the discussion points included the governance regarding the changes that displaced students and teachers will undergo, the financial feasibility of the options, and the necessity for students to identify with a Wilmington high school.

Public Comment

Public comments consisted of the following statements.

- The work group should consider alternative approaches that would combine and alleviate the concerns from the other options.
- The work group should consider the Harlem model, which provides local control and ownership of small neighborhood schools.
- The property assessment should be the main concern and the lawsuit will be impactful.

The meeting adjourned at 8:00 p.m.

Redding Consortium for Educational Equity: Redistricting Work Group Wednesday, January 29, 2020

Work Group Members:

Eugene Young, Co-Chair Dorrell Green Linc Hohler James DeChene Jamie Johnstone Jeff Menzer Joseph Jones Margie Lopez Waite Mike Jackson Richard Gregg Tika Hartsock

IPA Staff Members:

Abigail Armstrong Jason Bourke Sarah Bruch Fran O'Malley Joseph Pika Haley Qaissaunee Dan Rich Cimone Philpotts