Redding Consortium for Educational Equity December 10, 2020 Virtual Meeting Meeting Minutes

Welcome

The Redding Consortium Co-Chairs, Senator Tizzy Lockman and Matthew Denn, called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m. The Consortium members did roll call using the zoom chat box function.

Work Group Motions

The three Work Group's reported their updates and motions to be voted on by the Redding Consortium members. The following were the approved motions from the Funding and Governance Work Group:

- Edit and finalize House Bill 129 (incorporating viable edits from Work Group members and stakeholders).
- Create and act on an engagement strategy to garner support for House Bill 129.
- Work with Consortium Co-Chairs to refile redistricting and governance legislation to formally allow the Consortium to work on governance efforts in 2021.

A Consortium member had a question regarding which community groups the Work Group engaged with and what feedback they received. The Work Group spoke with superintendents, school leaders, and parent groups, and received feedback on previous referendums.

The following is the approved motion from the Educator Work Group:

• The Educator Work Group motions for an approval of its recommendations as presented and allows the Educator Work Group Co-Chairs to work with the Redding Consortium Co-Chairs to finalize the recommendations to present to the Governor.

Consortium members recommended reaching out to schools outside Delaware that have done research on communities that mirror Delaware communities. Additionally, Consortium members recommended further information on the success of previous whole school professional learning packages.

The following is the approved motion from the Social Determinants Work Group:

• The Social Determinants Work Group motions for approval of the report and to allow the Social Determinants Co-Chairs to work with the Redding Consortium Co-Chairs to finalize the recommendations to present to the Governor.

Consortium members asked funding questions about the actual price of their recommendations. Additionally, a concern was raised for ensuring linguistically inclusive student assessments.

The Consortium's 2021 Goals

The full Consortium has the following goals for the upcoming year:

- Create an ad-hoc group focused on the funding settlement
- File new redistricting timeline legislation

- Assess the Consortium composition and Work Group continuations/focuses
- Finalize the data report on the status of public education for City of Wilmington students
- Create an annual report to the legislature

The Work Groups had the following goal for the upcoming year:

- Funding and Governance Work Group
 - Continue referendum reform legislation and engagement strategy
- Educator Work Group
 - Enact implementation and monitoring plans
- Social Determinants Work Group
 - Build on current proposals to create a full-scale plan with implementation strategies by July 2021

Public Comment

Jason Heller stated that the Grow Our Own concept was great. He also stated that making school board terms shorter and adding a financial hardship to the process would deter individuals from running for a school board position, specifically diverse individuals.

Deborah Stevens stated that the Whole School Professional Learning Package recommendation needs to include securing school and district participation in the program. Mainly, the districts degree of commitment needs to be defined because it will be extremely difficult to get any work done if there is not cooperation. Additionally, Stevens suggested using research from other groups outside Delaware to help facilitate the program, such as Georgetown and Harvard.

The meeting adjourned at 6:30 p.m.

Redding Consortium for Educational Equity Thursday, December 10, 2020

Consortium Members:

Matthew Denn, Co-Chair Elizabeth Lockman, Co-Chair Dierda Aikens Maria Amatos Aaron Bass Nnamdi Chuckwoucha James DeChene Dorrell Green Tika Hartsock Lincoln Holner Stephanie Ingram Joseph Jones **Raye Jones Avery** Jeffrey Menzer Noelle Picara Mike Purzycki Henry Smith Michael Smith Danya Woods Eugene Young

IPA Staff Members:

Abigail Armstrong Jason Bourke Chris Kelly Brendan Laux Jerome Lewis Fran O'Malley Cimone Philpotts Kelly Sherretz Alexis Wrease Haley Qaissaunee

Members of the Public:

Jenna Ahner Dawn Alexander Amanda Arch Susan Bunting Tammy Croce Jason Doughety

Kristin Dwyer Lisa Edler **Emily Falcon** Mehan Fuciarell Amy Gallagher **Rick Geisenberger** Patrice Gilliam Jay Green Jason Hale **Roger Harrison** Jason Heller Kristina Horton Laurie Jacobs Jamie Johnston Teri Lawler Chuck Longfellow Spiros Mantzavi John Marinucci Mark McKenzie Kelsey Mensch Mary Nash Wilson Audrey Noble Kirsten Olson Shanika Perry Kristin Pidgeon Senator Nicole Poore John Read Angeline Rive Lucinda Ross Shelly Rouser Yvette Sanchez Jon Sheehan James Simmons Henry Smith III Tamara Smith John Skrobot Senator David Sokola **Deborah Stevens** Jeff Taschner **Representative Kim Williams** Yasser Payne