Funding Student Success Committee

Will recommend policies to:

  • Strengthen the revenue base supporting public education at both the state and local levels, including for property reassessment and tax adjustment
  • Adopt a weighted student funding formula or a modification of the current unit formula that incorporates allocations for school with high concentrations of student in poverty and English language learners and expands basic special education support to grades K-3
  • Fund the redistricting process and provide additional assistance to schools in the impacted districts
  • Conduct a needs assessment to evaluate whether the remaining districts in Wilmington require new middle and high schools in the city
  • Support the increased investment needed to sustain and accelerate advances in early childhood learning and in workforce and college access that meet the needs of low-income students

Committee meetings are open to the public. Meeting locations, dates, and times are posted on the Delaware Public Meeting Calendar and the Solutions for Delaware Schools Calendar. All meeting minutes will be posted upon approval of the committee.

Commission Retreat Round Table Discussion

Agendas & Minutes


Jill Floore, Co-chair
Chief Financial Officer, Red Clay Consolidated School District

Mike Jackson, Co-chair
Deputy Comptroller-General, State of Delaware

Susan Bunting, Ed.D.
Superintendent, Indian River School District

Kevin Carson, Ed.D.
Executive Director, Delaware Association of School Administrators

Kristin Dwyer
Director of Legislation and Political Organizing, Delaware State Education Association

Emily Falcon
Director, Division of Business, Colonial School District

Ed Freel
Policy Scientist, University of Delaware’s Institute for Public Administration

Jason Hale, Ed.D.
Director of Business, New Castle County Vocational Technical School District

Andy Hegedus, Ed.D.
Education Analyst and Resident, Christina School District

Scott Kessel
Chief Financial Officer, Brandywine School District

Elizabeth Lewis
Office of Management and Budget, State of Delaware

Tizzy Lockman
Vice-Chair, Wilmington Education Improvement Commission, Red Clay Parent

Mike Matthews
President, Red Clay Education Association

Mike Piccio
Red Clay Consolidated School District School Board

Ed Ratledge
Director, Center for Applied Demography and Survey Research, University of Delaware

Robert Silber
Chief Financial Officer, Christina School District

Print Friendly, PDF & Email